Shelby County


» Show All     «Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... Next»     » Slide Show

Citizens National Bank


The Citizens National Bank was organized in 1870 and began 
business July first of that year. James A. Lamb and Louis E. 
Mathers were the promoters of the enterprise and associated 
with them were John H. Mathers, Edmund Smith. William Johnston, 
Jacob Piper, Sr., Samuel Rice, John Barkalow, C. T. Pomeroy, 
James Murray, George Hemm, W. L. Alfele, Kendal and Conroy and 
Nathan Moore. 

Mr. Lamb was its first president until his death in 1808 and 
was succeeded by H. W. Thompson, who died in 1908. W. P. Metcalf 
followed Mr. Thompson and in 19 10 was succeeded by Dr. H. E. 
Beebe. Louis E. Mathers was its first cashier. He died in 1872 
and the next cashier was his brother, O. O. Mathers. In 1875 
W. E. Kilborn succeeded Mathers and remained with the bank until 
January 13, 1881, when he was followed by W. A. Graham, who still 
occupies the place. 

The institution has a capital stock of $100,000 with a surplus 
and undivided profits of $65,000. 

The present official force of the bank is Dr. H. E. Beebe, president; 
C. W. Frazer, vice president; W. A. Graham, cashier. Board of 
directors W. A. Graham, W. P. Metcalf, H. E. Beebe. Jacob Piper, 
I. N. Vandemark, C. W. Frazer. and YV. B. McCabe. 

The bank enjoyed a natural and prosperous growth and in view of the 
urgent necessity for a home better suited to the increasing 
requirements of its business erected a modern brick building equipped 
for security and convenience on the site of the old one at the corner 
of Poplar and Main streets in 1888 at a cost of $25,000.

Owner/SourceHistory of Shelby County, Ohio, and representative citizens (1913)
AlbumsCitizens National Bank

» Show All     «Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... Next»     » Slide Show